Virginia Tech Office of Research and Innovation Organizational Chart

As of November 2024

Senior Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer Daniel Sui

Executive Assistant Kim Borkowski

Strategic Research Alliances

Vice President Steven McKnight

Associate Vice President

Jon Porter

Innovation and Partnerships* / LINK + LICENSE + LAUNCH

Associate Vice President Brandy Salmon *dual report to Advancement

Sponsored Programs

Assistant Vice President and Director Linda Duffy

Research and Innovation Administration

Senior Associate Vice President Randy Heflin

Animal Resources and Care

Associate Vice President David Schabdach

Scholarly Integrity and Research Compliance

Associate Vice President Lisa M. Lee

Export and Secure Research Compliance

Assistant Vice President, Research Security and Chief Research Security Officer John Talerico

Research Development

Senior Coordinator Eleanor Nelsen

Assistant Vice President and Chief of Staff Laurel Miner

Electronic Research Administration and Process Improvement

Senior Director

Radka Schenk Kretinska

Information Technology

Senior Director Neil Sedlak

Marketing and Communications

Senior Director** Lindsey Haugh

Postdoctoral Affairs

Program Administrator Chris Smith

Finance

Senior Director Odie Fthenos

Human Resources

Division Director***
Lynn Byrd

Investment Institutes

Fralin Life Sciences Institute

Executive Director Rob McCarley

Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology

Director Ben Knapp

Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science

Executive Director Stefan Duma

Institute for Society, Culture and Environment

Executive Director Karen Roberto

Thematic Institutes

Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC

Executive Director Mike Friedlander

Virginia Tech National Security Institute

Executive Director Eric Paterson

Virginia Tech Transportation Institute

Executive Director Zac Doerzaph

University Center

Macromolecules Innovation Institute

Director Robert Moore

Affiliated Corporations and Initiatives

Virginia Tech Applied Research Corporation

President John Forte

Virginia Tech Intellectual Properties

President Brandy Salmon

Commonwealth Cyber Initiative

Executive Director Luiz DaSilva

^{**} Dual report to University Communications and Marketing

^{***} Dual report to University Human Resources